Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Dr. S. Tilewa Johnson is ‘Person of the Year 2012’

Archbishop Solomon Tilewa Johnson (Photo credit: ENS)

The Gambia New & Report Weekly Magazine has named the Most Rt. Rev. Dr. Solomon Tilewa Johnson as its Person of the Year 2012. 
In September 2012, the Bishop was elected the Ninth Archbishop of the Anglican Church of the Province of West Africa, which is one of the 38 Provinces of the Church headed by a Primate and Archbishop. The first Gambian Bishop to hold that position.

The Anglican Communion, established in 1951, is a group of autonomous episcopally governed reformed churches in communion with the UK based See of Canterbury. There are about 80 million members of the` Communion in over 800 dioceses.

The Weekly, published by the Gambia Communication Agency and Baroueli Enterprises, designate the Bishop "Person of the 2012” in view of this singular achievement, along with various others at the national and international levels, at the level of the church and in the country’s affairs; in the field of education and in terms of service to The Gambia and to humanity as a whole, as can be seen from the following account of your record of service.

The Weekly’s criteria for selecting "Person of the Year" is based on the following: “The Person of the year must be someone who, through his work, profession or personal endeavour, is judged to have contributed the most to the public welfare and to advancing the country's development in the interest of all Gambians.
“He or she must have contributed significantly in enhancing in a direct and tangible form, the social and economic status of Gambians as a whole.

“He or she would have put in place for posterity facilities and or infrastructures and other achievements that can serve as a lasting memorial of his contributions to national development.”

"The Gambia News and Report Weekly magazine, started publication as a monthly in 1992, and has since June 1996 been published weekly. The magazine's Editor and Publisher is Swaebou Conateh, who is also the Managing Director of the publishing company, The Gambia Communication Agency and Baroueli Enterprises. 

Previous Man /Gambian/Person of the Year named by the paper were: Amadou Samba, Pa Salleh Jagne, Dr. Ebrima Samba, Dr. Lenrie Peters, Lamin Waa Juwara, Isatou Njie-Saidy, Bye Lamin Jobe, Mrs Harriet Ndow, Imam Karamo Touray, Ousman Conateh (Fisko), Muhammed Jah, the late Deyda Hydara (post humous), Pa Sallah Jeng, Bolong Sonko and Mustapha Njie (joint-winners),President Yahya Jammeh, Dr. Isatou Touray, Kora Maestro Jaliba Kuyateh, Sir Dawda  Kairaba Jawara and Lawyer Fatou Bom Bensouda.

Written by Modou S. Joof

Follow on Facebook: The-North-Bank-Evening-Standard

No comments:

Post a Comment

The views expressed in this section are the authors' own. It does not represent The North Bank Evening Standard (TNBES)'s editorial policy. Also, TNBES is not responsible for content on external links.